Year of the Lynx

In 2013, the Minnesota Lynx won their second WNBA title, expanding their presence in the exclusive club of WNBA champions. In the league's first 17 years, eight franchises have won the title --
the Houston Comets (1997-2000),
the Los Angeles Sparks (2001-2002),
the Detroit Shock (2003, 2006, 2008),
the Seattle Storm (2004, 2010),
the Sacramento Monarchs (2005),
the Phoenix Mercury (2007, 2009)
the Minnesota Lynx (2011)
the Indiana Fever (2012) again the Minnesota Lynx (2013).
Leslie, Swoopes and Cooper headline the WNBA's 10th Anniversary All-Decade Team as selected by fans, media and basketball historians.
Meet the Players
The original Houston Comets had the right mix of superstars, role players, leadership and heart to build the first dynasty in the history of the WNBA.
10-year players | Memories

WNBA All-Star


The top stars of the game, both voted in by fans and selected by coaches, represent the Eastern and Western Conferences in this showcase of talent and skills at the midpoint of the season.
2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001

WNBA Draft


The WNBA Draft bridges the gap between a player's college career and the start of her professional career. From top overall picks to late round steals, re-live every selection in history.

Post Season Awards


At the end of every season, the WNBA honors a select group of individuals with prestigious awards across a broad range of categories, including MVP, top rookie and top coach.

Retired Players

Lisa Leslie
Lisa Leslie left a lasting mark on the league as she became the first player to ever reach the 6,000 point plateau in her 13 seasons with the Sparks.

History of Women's Basketball

A Century in the Making

From Berenson to Bolton, women's hoops has been rising for 100 years.

History of the WNBA

With the best talent in the world, corporate partners and a growing fanbase, the WNBA is here to stay.

The Making of the WNBA

A day-by-day timelime looking at how the most successful women's league was formed.

WNBA History Lesson


Go day-by-day through the calendar and re-live some of the memorable moments in WNBA history.


From 1996 thru today, the WNBA has made its mark and continues to grow with each passing year.


Remember the notable performances, like triple-doubles, 20-point/20-rebound games and dunks.


View the franchise timeline for a snapshot of league history.